Head Lice, Coconut Oil and Vinegar

Head Lice
A study done in 2010 in the UK and reported in the European Journal of Pediatrics tested the effectiveness of a coconut and anise spray against head lice as opposed to permethrin lotion. Permethrin lotion, the most commonly prescribed pediculicide for treating head lice, is reportedly losing its effectiveness in many places around the world in curing head lice. The study found that the coconut and anise spray was “significantly more successful” than the permethin lotion in curing head louse infestation.3
The folk method of getting rid of head lice in Hawaii is to soak the hair thoroughly with vinegar and leaving it to dry. Do not rinse out. Then coat the hair with the coconut oil and sleep with it on. The nits will comb out easily.. Linda – Coconut Diet Forums
I came to this forum accidentally and I am so amazed to learn that our very own coconut oil from the Philippines is doing miracles to people around the world. When I was a child, I observed my mom and grandma how they make the coconut oil and I can say that I have memorized it by heart. One experience that I saw was when my baby sister had wounds all over her head due to lice. The wounds got infected and my mom had no choice but to cut my sister’s hair off. Once again, she warmed the coconut oil and put a little salt in it, and she used a cotton ball to apply the oil over the infected wounds. In the morning, the wounds were dry and itchiness was gone. From then on, coconut oil has become our medicine for wounds. When I was a teen-ager, I used coconut oil for my hair to make it shiny and beautiful, but I stopped using it because it has an obvious smell and my classmates would tease me. During those days, the smell of coconut oil has a symbol status, it means that you belong to the lower class, in other words, I am poor…how sad. J – Coconut Diet Forums
Coconut oil indeed has many benefits for your hair!
References
1. Rele AS, Mohile RB. “Effect of mineral oil, sunflower oil, and coconut oil on prevention of hair damage.” Journal Cosmetology Science 2003 Mar-Apr;54(2):175-92.
2. “The Benefits of Coconut Oil in Black Hair Care – How Coconut Oil Can Bring Out the Best in Your Hair” Audrey Sivasothy, Yahoo! Contributor Network
Feb 2, 2010
3. Burgess IF, Brunton ER, Burgess NA. “Clinical trial showing superiority of a coconut and anise spray over permethrin 0.43% lotion for head louse infestation” European Journal Pediatrics. 2010 Jan;169(1):55-62
Original source: http://www.coconutdiet.com/coconut_oil_healthy_natural_hair.htm

Leave a comment